I’m Delirious!

Okay, as you all know either from my previous blog or from the title of this one, I’m corny. But right now, I can’t help it. I really can’t. I JUST FINISHED DELIRIUM!!!!!! This book, needless to say from my excitement, was AMAZING! There were ups and downs, happy times, sad times, and confusing times. Here’s a summary of the book:

“Lena looks forward to receiving the government-mandated cure that prevents the delirium of love and leads to a safe, predictable, and happy life, until ninety-five days before her eighteenth birthday and her treatment, when she falls in love.”

This summary may seem as though it gives the book away (and no, I did not write it – there are quotation marks, people), but it really doesn’t even skim the surface of this book. Most coming-of-age, Young Adult romance novels are with younger teenagers, fifteen years old or so. This one, however, is more about becoming a real adult and living in society as an 18 year-old. I’m going to be 18 in two years, but it still seems like a lifetime away to me. Lauren Oliver makes me feel as though I were 17, going on 18. The thoughts, mind processes, and feelings that Lena feels in the first person narrative is intriguing. It snags onto you and won’t let go until you’ve finished the last word of the last page, until you’ve laughed and smiled with all the characters, sympathized, hated, and yes loved all of them dearly, possibly (if you’re anything like me) cried with some of them.

Now, granted, like most works of art, it has it’s faults. Unfortunately, the whole totatitarian government, girl realizes the truth about the government thing is actually quite popular and this is not the first book that uses it. However, the whole cure for love idea is most definitely unique, at least in my experience. Also, the beginning, while slow from necesity, was a little boring, and the plot didn’t get really interesting/exciting until more towards the middle.

As Lena’s character grows and the plot thickens, you can’t help but side with her, no matter how she’s coping with a situation – there’s no screaming at the book, saying “NO, Lena, don’t open the door!” or “Lena, how could you have been so stupid?!” Instead, you practically are Lena, committing the action, feeling the same emotions, and I found myself looking over my shoulder once or twice to see if anyone noticed my outbursts of emotion when I was reading this. Was I smiling too much? Laughing too loud? Showing signs of amor deliria nervosa – love? I realized that Lena was making a mistake when she realized it; when she was embarrassed, so was I, but if she wasn’t backing down, then I was standing right next to her, refusing to back down.

All in all, a great read. I suggest it to all of you out there that just need to feel rebellious, are having personal troubles, or just need a good book to read this coming week.
Some other, similar books: The Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins), Matched (Ally Condie), and The Giver (Lois Lowry).

Good Reading!

Comment

