Werewolves (No Vampires Mentioned)

Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she’ll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But when she violates her masters’ laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything – including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?

Nightshade is the first book in a series that I finished yesterday. Andrea Cremer brought the romance and bloodlust to life as Calla struggles with her feelings and her duty, and whether or not her duty is the what she always thought it was. I loved the character and how I’m privy to her every thought and emotion. Most books that I have read that were written in the first person were very revealing, but this character in particular I felt as though I really understood her. She made her decisions, and I admired her for them, no matter what I would have done in her place.

The pack culture was really interesting too. I liked the protectiveness of the alphas of their packs, and I also liked the bonds between the pack members. There were a couple characters, like Sabine, that I think Cremer left alone too much, but she did a very good job developing the characters. The ending, though, was by far my favorite part. The pack ties to Calla are tested, Calla’s friendships and loves are fraught with emotion, and it left me searching the back of the book for the sequel, or at least a hint – which, I suppose, is what the last chapter was meant to be, but still! I can’t wait to read the next book.


(these are the berries from the Hunger Games, if I recall correctly :P)

Happy reading!
Yours Truly

Comment

