The Fountain… Uh, I Mean Vial… Of Eternal Youth

I’m going to say something that some of you are going to judge me for, but don’t. Trust me. Here it is: I just finished a book written by Hilary Duff.

Hey! No judging! It’s title is Elixir, and actually I really enjoyed it. Of course, when I first heard about it, I kind of pushed it off because it was written by Hilary Duff – Lizzie Maguire and all that. But think about it – she hasn’t ended up like Disney’s Miley Cyrus. She’s a humanitarian, and her book proved me wrong about her on so many points. He writing is very good – her plot was very smooth. I warmed up and was sucked into the book just as easily as I am into any other book – this one just took a little longer to draw me in, but still left me aching for a sequel.

A soulmate for life … Or death.
Seventeen-year-old Clea Raymond has felt the glare of the spotlight her entire life. The daughter of a renowned surgeon and a prominent politician, she has become a talented photojournalist who takes refuge in a world that allows her to travel to many exotic places. But after Clea’s father disappears while on a humanitarian mission, Clea begins to notice eerie, shadowy images in her photos of a strange and beautiful man – a man she has never seen before.
When fate brings Clea and this man togeth, she is stunned by the immmediate and powerful connection she feels with him. As they grow closer, they are drawn deep into the mystery behind her father’s disappearance, and they discover the centuries-old truth behind their intense bond. Torn by a dangerous love triangle and haunted by a powerful secret that holds their fate, together they race against time to unravel their pasts in order to save their lives – and their futures. ~
Courtesy of Simon and Schuster

I absolutely loved Clea. She was such a strong character, fighting to have freedom even in her parents’ spotlight. I liked her characterization, and that of her best friend, Rayna. I did think that the other characters, though, like her mom, could have been worked on more. I didn’t feel a connection to Clea through her family life – only through her emotions and feelings and friends. Even Ben could have been a little more characterized, although I did like him. And then there’s the love triangle. Yeah, yeah, they’re overrated, blah blah blah, but admit it – you love them. You love the feeling of not knowing which guy is going to be chosen, or maybe which girl. You love that you either hate or love the guy/girl the main character ends up with, and the frustration of feeling bad for the other one. And here I’ll tell you something – this book is like Aprilynne Pike’s series in that the first book is not final – we don’t know what could happen next. I won’t tell you too much (don’t worry, no spoilers) but the plot was inconclusive, and even though the end of the climax was abrupt, I still hope that Duff writes the next part of Clea’s stories too!

So tell me what you think!! I have yet to hear from someone other than my school friend 😀
Yours Truly

4 responses to “The Fountain… Uh, I Mean Vial… Of Eternal Youth

  1. Haha not going to lie, but I’ve been hesitant to start this book. Only because she is a celebrity. Everyon has said it is amazing and the book sounds really good, but you know. She also didn’t write it herself, there is another author that isn’t titled on the book. But if you thought it was good then I’m probably going to check it out xD

    Have you seen the paperback cover?! Which one do you like better?

    • Yeah, I was really surprised that I liked it. It just took a little bit to get into. And the other author was listed on the inside, Elise Allen, but Duff was actually the main writer. I actuallly like the hardcover better than the soft, but the second book’s cover that I posted matches the softcover, so if you were to get the set, I’d get the soft cover books. 😛

Comment

