Spooks in the Shadows

I found a book that I like reading on my Nook! There were a couple typos, but I think that is just going to be standard in them, unfortunately. I just read Shadow Dancer by Courtney Rene. It was so good! Here’s a synopsis, courtesy of Amazon:

Sunny has a gift that she has no idea how to use, until she meets Leif, a boy from the kingdom of Acadia, on the other side of the shadows.
Leif teaches Sunny about Shadow Walkers and how to use her new found gifts. As they grow closer and their gifts grow stronger, a threat arrives. The Shadow Guard has been sent to bring Sunny back to Acadia, to determine if she is a threat to the king as the rightful ruler of Acadia.
As Leif and Sunny prepare to defend themselves, Sunny finds that Leif has also been sent to bring Sunny back to the kingdom but for very different reasons. As a battle for possession of Sunny wages, she is struggling to come to turns with her feelings of inadequacy regarding controlling her gifts as well as the hurt regarding the lies and deceit of everyone around her.

I really enjoyed this story. The first person point of view really allowed you to have insight into the book. I liked having thoughts about other characters that Sunny was having, and completely backing her up, just as if I were one of her friends. I just wish that I could have her ability! I give a lot of credit to Ms. Rene for coming up with this idea. It’s so creative and intriguing, and so much fun to read about. It was very entertaining.

There was also romance in the book as well, confusing Sunny even more with the conflicts that are going on in her life. The only complaint I have about the entire thing was that it was really short, only 113 pages of an eBook. And as far as I know, there’s no sequel, which is really frustrating. However, I will be investigating this further! Until then,

~Yours Truly

Comment

