To Witch or Bewitch

Chime by Franny Billingsley is SUCH a good book! I was so sad when I finished it – I just wanted it to go forever, never lose my tab on Briony Larkin’s life. Her emotion was so clear and piercing. I loved the point of view, and her attitude and the self-discovery involved. The plot was amazing! I loved every second of it, and never wanted it to end. I was hanging on to every word, trying to figure out what would happen next.

It was a little confusing with the time frames and memories, and on occasion it was difficult to understand Rose, who had her own problems, but for all her issues, I think Rose was my favorite character. I mean, I loved the learning process and everything that Briony went through during her story, but Rose was a very unique character. In books that take place in a not-so-modern setting, you don’t often get a character with problems like Rose did. It was refreshing and entertaining, kept me rooting for all the main characters.

I like that this book sort of experimented in a couple different genres. There was some mystery, some fantasy, some historical fiction with the witch trials, and definitely some romance (FYI, I LOVE ELDRIC!!). It was neat to see how it was blended into this one book seamlessly – I was figuring out the mystery, loving the characters, intrigued by the Old Ones’ fantasies, and just alltogether amazed at how well it all worked. You won’t be disappointed if you read this book – it’s an all around crowd pleaser, perfect for anyone! The only complaint that I had was that I WANTED MORE SO BADLY!!

On to the next book!
Yours Truly

Comment

