The Title Really Sums It Up.

Okay, really, really, REALLY! giddy right now! I just finished Personal Demons, and I AM SO… um, I can’t even think of a word for how I’m feeling – ME, the person my friends call the “dictionary!” I just can’t BELIEVE how amazing that was. Hmmm. Let’s put it this way: I’ve found a book to replace Bloody Jack as my favorite book, if not my favorite character. And the guy Frannie ends up with? These two are my new favorite couple!

Frannie Cavanaugh has always been a bit of a loner. She’s spent years keeping everyone at a distance, even her closest friends. That is, until Luc Cain enrolls in her school. He’s hot, sarcastic, and dangerous – and Frannie can’t seem to stay away.
What she doesn’t know is that Luc is on a mission. Because Frannie isn’t exactly ordinary. She possesses a skill so unique that the King of Hell himself has taken notice, and he’s sent Luc to claim Frannie’s soul. It should be easy: All he has to do is get her to sin, and Luc is as tempting as they come.
Unfortunately for Luc, Heaven has other plans, and he’s just started making progress when the angel Gabriel shows up. Gabe will do anything to keep Luc from getting what he came for, and his angelic charm might just be enough to keep Frannie on the right path.
It isn’t long before Luc and Gabe find themselves fighting for more than just Frannie’s soul. But if Luc fails to win her over, there will be Hell to pay … for all of them.

This is SUCH a great starter book. I loved every second, from the very first chapter title, which is “Original Sin,” ironically the title of the sequel (which, by the way, I REALLY need to get VERY soon!). I loved all the chapter titles, but that one especially caught my eye and my complete, undivided attention to the book, as well as the cover, which I also happen to LOVE!!

Frannie is such an interesting person, very closed off and secret. I love how Luc is intrigued by her, how a seemingly normal teenage girl could catch the eye of a demon, and Satan himself. This book was full of danger, lust (but not too steamy), love, secrets, and choices. Even though Frannie’s parents may not approve of her final choice in this book, her Grandpa does, and so do I. I love the relationships between the characters, and how each character changes during the course of the book.

This story had all the right pauses and cliff-hangers and changes in point of view. The alternating points of view from Luc’s and Frannie’s perspective were so much fun to explore, and definitley had their own voices. It was as if I knew the people – I never got lost with the point of view because of the distinct voice of each of them. Luc’s sayings – “Unholy Hell,” “Satan save me,” etc. – were amusing to say the least, and I was always on my toes, never guessing what could happen next. This book didn’t allow me to think about what could happen; I figured everything (well, except the demon/angel thing that I found out first) along with the other characters.

I highly recommend this book, and I hope to read Original Sin in the very near future.
~Yours Truly

Comment

