The Supernatural Military

Okay, I was soooo excited to read this book, Goddess Boot Camp by Tera Lynn Childs. So I started reading it. And then I realized that there’s a prequel. So I finished it and will review it now, but must read Oh. My. Gods. very, very soon.

Phoebe, who recently dscovered she’s a descendant of Nike (the goddess, not the shoe), is finding out that supernatural powers come with a crazy learning curve.
A few months ago, when Phoebe’s mom married a Greek guy and moved her halfway around the world to the tiny island of Serfopoula, she had no idea that she’d soon find herself surrounded by the descendants of the Greek gods, let alone that she’d learn her own heritage was more mythical than mortal. But because she still doesn’t quite have her new powers under control, something that can be dangerous since the gods are known for smoting those who use their powers recklessly, Phoebe’s been enrolled at
Dynamotheos Development Camp, also known as Goddess Book Camp, for the summer. What kind of earthly torture will Goddess Boot Camp be? Well, it can’t be any worse that Hades, can it?
This summer will be all about learning her powers, reigning them in, training for the marathon at the Pythian Games (the only athletic event bigger than the Olympics), and surviving Goddess Boot Camp with her love life and sanity intact!

Tera Lynn Childs did an excellent job with this book. It was amusing and entertaining, but also had a lot of substance to it. I loved Phoebe’s insecurties and problems; I loved her boyfriend Griffin; and I adored!! the entire plot. Goddess Boot Camp was entertaining, as were some of the characters. I did feel as though some of them could have been a little more developed, but then again, I didn’t read the first book either.

Trust was a major theme in this book – Phoebe’s trust issues, mostly. Not only was she hesitant to trust others, but she also had to learn a lot about herself in this book. So, all in all, I liked the book, and look forward to reading the first one!

Two more reviews to be posted when I finish the books, and then I’ll have to read my second summer reading, but I’ll be back soon after!
~Yours Truly

Comment

