Illusions

I’ve been very bad. I read the third Aprilynne Pike book without rereading the first two! Therefore, I forgot half of what had previously happened, which did not help my view on the book Illusions.

Laurel hasn’t seen Tamani since she begged him to let her go last year. Though her heart still aches, Laurel is confident that David was the right choice.
But just as life returns to normal, Laurel realizes that a hidden enemy lies in wait. Once again, Laurel must turn to Tamani to protect and guide her, for the danger that now threatens Avalon is one that no faerie thought would ever be possible. And for the first time, Laurel cannot be sure that her side will prevail.

The summary of this book indicates more suspense than there actually was in the book. I read it expecting action, trolls, and of course, romance. I wasn’t let down in most of this – there were trolls, and the book mostly focused on Laurel’s personal life, so check off romance. However, I felt as though the action and suspense was lacking. There were no real fight scenes, no times where Laurel’s life was truly in danger.

Despite a slight disappointment there, the cover is amazing, and book was very well written; I couldn’t put it down. I finished it rather quickly, since this is less than twelve hours from my last post (I’m doing very accurate/detailed math – it’s summer!). It kind of sped by really fast, and left me hanging at the end, like every good book that’s in the middle of a series should do. Even though this one didn’t really include much of the big picture, there were some important parts to it, and I can’t wait to read the next book in the series. I am recommending this book – it’s a little break, sort of like Angel was in the Maximum Ride series.

Last book until summer reading willl be Anna and the French Kiss.
Yours Truly

Comment

