Fairy Tales Reinvented

I loved fairy tales when I was little, but I still love them now, especially when authors rewrite them!! The Swan Kingdom by Zoe Marriott is a twist off of the story of the princess who can’t speak until she weaves three tunics to turn her brothers from swans to humans again. Even though this was only a very small part of the story, I enjoyed it thoroughly.

Shadows have fallen across the beautiful and lush Kingdom. The queen was attacked by an unnatural beast, and the healing skills of her daughter, Alexandra, cannot save her. Too soon the widowed king is spellbound by a frightening stragner – a woman whose eyes reflect no light. In a terrifying moment, all Alexandra knows disappears, including her beloved brothers, leaving her banished to a barren land unlike her own.
Alexandra has more gifts than even she realizes as she is confronted with magic, murder, and the strongest of evil forces. She is unflinchingly brave and clever as she struggles to reclaim what she knows is rightfully hers.
This new voice in fantasy weaves a tale rich in visual detail, peppered with a formidable destructive force, and sweetened with familial and romantic love.

(I love these covers – I read the one at the top, but the second is cool, even if it is more youngerish. The last one is okay, but it doesn’t depict the story as well as the first!)

Even though this book was short, I enjoyed every word. I was captured from the very first page of the prologue, especially the last sentence of the first page: “And then, when the plant had been carefully potted, she cupped a handful of the rich dark soil and showed me its power” (1). I knew then that the book would intrigue me – I mean, what power does dirt have? In our world, the power to grow. But in Farland, Alexandra’s home? Its wonders are infinite, when dealing with the right people.

I loved her brothers, and even though her aunt comes across as cold at first, there’s an underlying feeling that she’s one of the good guys. I loved how the writing got that across to me. The romance was a little random when first introduced, but I still loved Gabriel. Even though it was a little random how they met, I still liked him – he wasn’t a creepy stalker, he just couldn’t sleep. He was sweet and understanding, and he and Alexandra are perfect for each other! And of course, as is the case with any good book I read, even though the ending was great, if there was ever a sequel I’d totally read it!

Next up is Undine by Penni Russon.
~Yours Truly

Comment

