Deities Incarnate

Pulse It has this wonderful thing called an online reader (not actually sure if that’s what it’s called, but anyway). I LOVE IT. I read Wildefire by Karsten Knight on it today, and loved this book!

Every flame begins with a spark.
Ashline Wilde is having a rough sophomore year. She’s struggling to find her place as the only Polynesian girl in school, her boyfriend just cheated on her, and now her runaway sister, Eve, has decided to barge back into her life. When Eve’s violent behavior escalates and she does the unthinkable, Ash transfers to a remote private school nestled in California’s redwoods, hoping to put the tragedy behind her. But her fresh start at Blackwood Academy doesn’t go as planned. Just as Ash is beginning to enjoy the perks of her new school—being captain of the tennis team, a steamy romance with a hot, local park ranger—Ash discovers that a group of gods and goddesses have mysteriously enrolled at Blackwood…and she’s one of them. To make matters worse, Eve has resurfaced to haunt Ash, and she’s got some strange abilities of her own. With a war between the gods looming over campus, Ash must master the new fire smoldering within
before she clashes with her sister one more time… And when warm and cold fronts collide, there’s guaranteed to be a storm.

Okay, when I first started this, I thought to myself, What’s all the fuss about? I thought this book was supposed to be good? Yeah, well Maribeth, if you wouldn’t be judgemental because you’re tired and cranky, maybe you’d enjoy the book! And I did. Really enjoy it, that is. Even though it was a little quiet in the beginning, until Eve showed up, it was still REALLY good. The romance scenes and the action scenes were written with equal attraction. I loved Ash as a character, and sided with her over Eve every time. I loved Colt, too; was upset when characters turned; and cried when bad things happened. I supported them the entire way, even through the crankiness.

The adventure and mystery of some things were really intriguing, like the Cloak, creatures that can be dangerous but no one knows a lot about. I enjoyed the action/fight scenes, and hope there are some more to come in the next book, which because of the ending, there MUST be!! The ending was AMAZING!!! The cliff hanger made me want to meet Karsten Knight and simply demand at least a teaser chapter from the next book. I NEED to know what happens to some of those characters! I cannot wait until it comes out. But until then, fellow book enthusiasts, I have others to read (including my summer reading, which I’ve been very bad about doing).

~Yours Truly

Comment

