Grrr….

So I’ve read exactly zero pages of my summer reading since my last post. I’ve been busy. Yet I’ve managed to finish three novels. Granted, they were all pretty short, but still. All two hundred plus pages. My summer reading’s only two fifty. I’m just not good at being forced to read something, I guess…..

So the first that I finished was Clean by Amy Reed. It’s basically about teens in rehab, but I’ll let the blurb be more descriptive. I’ve had a long day 😛

You’re probably wondering how I ended up here. I’m still wondering the same thing.
Olivia, Kelly, Christopher, Jason, and Eva have one thing in common: They’re addicts. Addicts who have hit rock bottom and been stuck together in rehab to face their problems, face sobriety, and face themselves. None of them wants to be there. None of them wants to confront the truths about their pasts. And they certainly don’t want to share their darkest secrets and most desperate fears with a room of strangers. But they’ll all have to deal with themselves and one another if they want to learn how to live. Because when you get that high, there’s nowhere to go but down, down, down.

The way this book was written was amazing. It was from the point of view of each of the main characters at one point or another, and it wasn’t hard at all to tell which POV it was from if I skipped reading the heading in the beginning. For example, and I’ll bleep out the cursing (because there was a lot, but it made the story more realistic – you don’t go to high school and not hear any cursing):

JASON: “F*** you f*** you f*** you F*** YOU.” Not kidding. Those were the first words that I read from him. (pg. 2)

EVA: “This place is a body…. We are cancerous cells. Quarantined. An epidemic. We are rogue mutations…” (pg. 2) Her POV is so descriptive because what we read is what she writes in her journal that she carries with her. She is very artistic.

And then of course there’s Olivia. Perfect, OCD, partially insane Olivia. For instance, the group leader (probably my favorite character, who I’ll get into in a moment), SHIRLEY says to Olivia: “You don’t live in the same world everyone else does…because you’ve constructed this imaginary universe where you’re the boss of everything. And it’s killing you.” (pg. 63)

And THAT is exactly why I love Shirley. She sees right into the heart of these teenagers who believe that they are alone. That they deserve to be alone. That no one understands, not even they understand, so how could anyone else? Shirley helps them see what they’ve been hiding from themselves. I loved to watch her part of the healing process these kids went through. It was painful, but she was down-to-earth about it, and straight-forward. She didn’t beat around the bush, and she didn’t brook any nonsense from anyone, not even the parents when they came to visit.

Amy Reed did an excellent job with this book, and I would recommend it to teens especially, but really anyone at an age mature enough to handle the cursing in the book.

~Yours Truly

Comment

