Catch Up Review: Theodore Boone: The Abduction

The first book, Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer, was really good. The series is a middle grade series, but I still enjoyed it. The second book, Theodore Boone: The Abduction, was also interesting. John Grisham did a great job for his younger audiences.

Theodore Boone is back in a new adventure, and the stakes are higher than ever. When his best friend, April, disappears from her bedroom in the middle of the night, no one, not even Theo Boone – who know April better than anyone – has answers.

As fear ripples through his small hometown and the police hit dead ends, it’s up to Theo to use his legal knowledge and investigative skills to chase down the truth and save April.

Both of the books had a lot of intrigue and mystery in them. I thought this one was a lot more personal, but at the same time calmer because it was so personal. There was a lot of worry in the tone of this book, rather than the suspense that filled the previous, because Theo’s parents had a bigger role in this book than the other. They knew their son well when it came to his best friend, so kept a tighter leash on him, causing him to worry more than do anything. However, the book went by pretty fast, kept me interested and involved, and the thoughts that went through Theo’s mind were enough to read. Trying to puzzle out the mystery myself, I kept thinking, “Come on, Theo. Figure it out! I need to know!”

There were also several scary parts that would too much of a spoiler, but I was always concerned for April’s safety and Theo’s sanity while I was reading. When everything was finally resolved, I was so happy. I won’t say about what, except that a certain judge put a few people in their place. I hope that if ever there is a third book, I will be able to get my hands on it quickly!

Only one more review until I’m caught up,
~Yours Truly

Comment

