It’s Greek To Me

So I just read Fury by Elizabeth Miles on Simon and Schuster’s PulseIt. This was an interesting read, but here’s the blurb first:

It’s winter break in Ascension, Maine. The snow is falling and everything looks pristine and peaceful. But not all is as it seems…
Between cozy traditions and parties with her friends, Emily loves the holidays. And this year is even better – the guy she’s been into for months is finally noticing her. But Em know if she starts things with him, there’s no turning back – because his girlfriend is Em’s best friend.
On the other side of town, Chase is having problems of his own. The stress of his home life is starting to take its toll, and his social life is unraveling. But that’s nothing compared to what’s really haunting him. Chase has done something cruel … something the perfect guy he pretends to be would never do. And it’s only a matter of time before he’s exposed.
In Ascension, mistakes can be deadly. And three girls – three beautiful, mysterious girls – are here to choose who will pay. Em and Chase have been chosen.

This book was odd from the very beginning. The cover and title was what really drew me in to read the book in the first place, but then when I started, it was almost the complete opposite of what I expected, and for me, at least, this wasn’t a good thing. Em and Chase, the main characters, were completely normal, and made mistakes – okay. But in most books, what happened to Chase just doesn’t happen. (I’d tell you, but that would completely give away the entirety of the book). Let’s just say, it was weird.

The three girls – the Furies – were easily picked out from the characters in the book. Ali, Meg, and Ty were all weird in the first place, and then the relationship between Ty and Chase was just crazy. I had never read anything like it – the wording of the story was weird too, and instead of feeling really intimate with the characters, as though they were my best friends, I felt as though I were a classmate looking in on their feelings during specific times in their lives. It was not the best experience of reading I’d ever had. Right from the beginning, I couldn’t really get into the story. Fury simply existed; it was not a horrible book, but it was not rave-worthy, either, at least for me.

However, for people looking for more of a normal main character (no supernatural powers, etc.) whose life is out of their control and being controlled by twisted freaky Furies, well then this is the book for you! For me though, it just didn’t click.

Sorry for the lateness, again, but I’ve been busy with school and a non-fiction book that I’m reading for fun. Haven’t had much time to read anything else, but I will as soon as I finish this one book! Hopefully, Witchlanders will be up next.
~Yours Truly

Comment

