Witches and, Well, That’s It.

I just read Witchlanders by Lena Coakley. Here’s the blurb before I either go stark raving mad typing, or fall asleep on my keyboard:

High in their mountain covens, red witches pray to the Goddess, protecting the Witchlands by throwing the bones and foretelling the future.
It’s all fake.
At least, that’s what Ryder thinks. He doubts the witches really deserve their tithes – one quarter of all the crops his village can produce. And even if they can predict the future, what danger is there to foretell, now that his people’s old enemy, the Baen, have been defeated?
When a terrifying new magic threatens both his village and the coven, Ryder must confront the beautiful and silent witch who holds all the secrets. Everything he’s every believed about witches, the Baen, magic, and himself will change when he discovers that the prophecies he’s always scorned…are about HIM.

I happened to love this book – the back cover says that it’s so hard to put down, and it was absolutley right. I read straight through to the end pretty quickly, but I was entertained and loved the entire thing as a whole, as well as some specific parts.

I loved the idea of a Talat-sa, a spirit sibling. It was a little impersonal and invading, but at the same time, there would always be one person who would always completely understand you. It’s the idea that people have of twins being connected, of knowing if they’re in trouble, etc. It was incredible what Coakley did with her world. The idea and background of the story and characters were great – I was intrigued and there was always something going on. Even if some parts were predictable, there were other parts that totally threw me for a loop. It was exciting and the adventures that happened took place in such a way that I felt like a part of the action.

The only complaint I had was that the beginning was a little abrupt and hard to follow, until the plot started to thicken. However, it was not that hard, and I would definitely recommend this book for any young adult to read, but especially 13-15 years. It was very enjoyable. One last thing: I still can’t figure out who the person on the cover is supposed to be, but I can’t help but love it anyway! It’s mysterious, wintery, and bold at the same time with the spear under the title!

Not sure when I’ll be back; back from vacation, and back to school, so a lot of time will be taken up by that. My apologies,
~Yours Truly

Comment

