Another Sarah Dessen

So, I finished What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen the other day, and never got to writing this review. Sorry, guys!

Since her parents’ bitter divorce, McLean and her dad, a restaurant consultant, have been on the move-four towns in two years. Estranged from her mother and her mother’s new family, McLean has followed her dad in leaving the unhappy past behind. And each new place gives her a chance to try out a new persona: from cheerleader to drama diva. But now, for the first time, McLean discovers a desire to stay in one place and just be herself, whoever that is. Perhaps Dave, the guy next door, can help her find out.

Like the other books I have read by Sarah, this one was fraught with emotion. Tension, anger, grief, and at the same time happiness mixed in as well. I love how her main character, usually the girl, changes, but that there’s also usually a little romance going on too, and the guy can change and have epiphanies and stuff too. I like her books because they’re a little break from all the paranormal/fantasy stuff and a chance to read some realistic fiction.

McClean was an interesting character because of the contrast between what she was feeling and what I was feeling. Even though I honestly was just enjoying the storyline and book in general, I aslo realized something things about myself while reading the book, and about emotions in general. For instance, when people tick me off, I get MAD. And enjoy being mad because it allows me to let loose any anger/frustration I have. And then I’m good until someone makes me mad again. But McClean, even when she was angry, for some reason, even though she wanted to, and I wanted her to, she almost never lost her cool. That’s probably the only thing about the book that I didn’t like. That she didn’t really get a chance to yell and scream and be hormonal teenager; she sort of just pent it all up and eventually let it out in tears.

I did, however, enjoy each one of her personas, and loved every second of her thoughts and ideas. I liked how I thought some things would happen but they didn’t, or something else happened instead, but there was also a time (the end) where I wish things happened slightly differently. I felt that the end wasn’t necessarily abrupt, but that there was something missing, that it all ended maybe too decompressed, emotionally, because the rest of the book was so intense.

All in all, though, a great book. I’m also almost done with The Truth About Forever, also by Sarah Dessen, so I’ll review that soon too.
~Yours Truly

Comment

