English, Please?

Just finished The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan, the third book in The Olympians series! Started and finished today, that is (didn’t have too much homework). Here’s the overview:

When Percy Jackson receives an urgent distress call from his friend Grover, he immediately prepares for battle. He know he’ll need his powerful demigod allies at his side; his trusty bronze sword, Riptide, and … a ride from his mom.
The demigods race to the rescue to find that Grover has made an important discovery: two new powerful half-bloods, whose parentage is unknown. But that’s not all that awaits them. The Titan lord, Kronos, has set up a devious trap, and the young heroes have just fallen prey.

This is a great MG/YA book. I really enjoyed reading the book, even though it’s been awhile since I read the first two books in the series. Even though I read it pretty quickly, the plot sort of dragged in the beginning because I was still catching up again; however, it quickly sped up and kept me interested the entire time. Riordan truly created suspese and mystery; I never knew the full extent of what was going on. I was always a step or two behind, trying to piece things together but finding out before I could figure it out. I loved how it was a non-stop story. There were no awkward breaks, no pauses where there had to be a fill-in chapter or anything. Everything flowed really nicely, and totally made sense.

There was a lot of character growth in the book too, from what I recalled of the series. There’s the Percy/Annabeth question, the parent/offspring relationships with the gods, the intergod relations, etc. Everything becomes more important, especially for the next book, which I will read next: The Battle of the Labyrinth. I can’t wait to see what adventures they will go on next!

The Greek mythology also never ceases to amaze me. I am continually learning, even though Greek and Roman mythology were my favorite parts of English and World History. It’s definitely part of why I enjoy the series. However, even if you don’t like myths and/or legends, this series is still excellent. The action, the friendships, and the plot would keep anybody interested. I can personally tell you that the series appeals to all ages, even though it’s aimed at middle grade readers – my brother read it, I’m reading it now, and my dad is also enjoying the books.

Until the next review,
Yours Truly

Comment

