The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Title: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Book 1 in Mara Dyer series)
Author: Michelle Hodkin
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Release Date: September 27, 2011

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.
She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.
There is.
She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

This book was, to say the very least, unique. I love the cover, the creativity is amazing, and the details of this story, as the Mara attempts to make sense of her confusing, hallucination-filled life, give the story itself so much more depth. The characters were very aptly described, and even though throughout most of the story, it became difficult to tell what was happening and what was Mara’s hallucinations, the characters allowed the reader to focus on what was really happening. The way the book was written, however, made the reader truly think like Mara, and believe that you were going crazy, just as Mara did.

The anchor of the story was definitely the romance, and even that was a little creepy in the very middle of the book, when I truly doubted Noah for the first time. Noah, by the way, is HOT! ****SPOILER:

If he wasn’t just as crazy/gifted as Mara, I’d totally go out with him!

****END OF SPOILER

I really did enjoy Mara and Noah’s relationship, and can’t wait to see how it develops in the next installment. I also loved how I was really sympathetic with Mara to a certain point, despite some of her actions, and then suddenly the author made me hate Mara as much as Mara hated herself. It was truly as though my emotions were being manipulated to feel as Mara felt. When she was depressed, I felt like crying, but at the same time didn’t want to bother doing anything. When she was with Noah, I was head-over-heels for a guy made up of brain particles and only I could see. I loved reading this book, and I really can’t wait to see what Ms. Hodkin has in store for Mara, as well as her dedicated readers, in the next book. I do recommend this book, but for more mature readers – it has some graphically violent scenes, as well as some short, semi-explicit scenes.

~Yours Truly

Comment

