Hereafter

Title: Hereafter
Author: Tara Hudson
Publisher: Harper Teen
Release Date: June 7, 2011

Drifting in the dark waters of a mysterious river, the only thing Amelia knows for sure is that she’s dead. With no recollection of her past life – or her actual death – she’s trapped alone in a nightmarish existence. All of this changes when she tries to rescue a boy, Joshua, from drowning in her river. As a ghost, she can do nothing but will him to live. Yet in an unforgettable moment of connection, she helps him survive.
Amelia and Joshua grow ever closer as they begin to uncover the strange circumstances of her death and the secrets of the dark river that held her captice for so long. But even while they struggle to keep their bond hidden from the living world, a frightening spirit named Eli is doing everything in his power to destroy their newfound happiness and drag Amelia back into the ghost world … forever.

First of all, that cover is amazing. I wish I could get to see how the professionals make the covers, everything from the cover model shoot to the editing and the printing. It would be so cool to get to physically see the process in person. I’d also really like to meet the person who created this one. The ghostly tinge to the girl on the front is so cool.

Next, the idea of a ghost love story? Totally creative, if not completely unique. The idea of a hereafter instead of an afterlife, where there is no recollection of death until the ghost is “awakened”? Completely enthralling. I loved the storyline, the characters, everything. It was all so well thought out and written beautifully. I couldn’t break away from Amelia – her and Joshua seemed so perfect, and it was pitiful how badly I wanted them to be together. And there definitely HAS to be another book to this one. The ending, despite not being a cliff-hanger (which I truly appreciate! Waiting for books **cough, cough, Hush, Hush #4** is soooo frustrating – but in a good way I guess), does not tie up all the loose ends. And I NEED to know how this whole loving-a-living-person-while-I’m-a-ghost can turn out okay, without heartbreak and grief. And there better be a way for that to happen!!

Amelia was a GREAT main character. She wasn’t too sure of herself, she was in love, and she was determined. I loved her uncertainty as she figured out how to get closer to Joshua, and I swear I nearly swooned with relief when they were finally able to do something as simple as holding hands!! I could just picture them, and they made the absolute CUTEST couple! I adored both of these main characters, and basically, can say nothing bad about this book. (Eli was a bad person, not a bad character!)

Up next for review: Airhead by Meg Cabot, then Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini. Then a couple ebooks, and hopefully a book sent in to me. And I’m realizing this list is getting very long. I have a TON of reading to do!

~Yours Truly

Comment

