Raised by Wolves

Title: Raised by Wolves
Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Publisher: Egmont USA
Release Date: June 8, 2010

Rescued by the alpha of a werewolf pack after a rogue werewolf brutally killed her parents, fifteen-year-old Bryn knows only pack life and the rigid social hierarchy that controls it. But then she discovers Chase, a newly turned werewolf locked in a cage in her alpha’s basement. Seeing him, Bryn feels a bond unlike anything she has ever experienced – but speaking to him brings up questions about her mysterious past. The hunt for answers will drive her farther from the wolves who raised her, and closer to a truth that will change everything.

Bryn is an amazing character. Right away, she’s sarcastic, clever, and completely independent – or trying to be. She’s most definitely a feminist, and put all these characteristics into a human surrounded by dominating werewolves, you get Bryn. Needless to say, I love her. Everything that she experienced was emotional. From the very first chapter, when Callum grounds her, I felt her anger, her frustration, and I was literally about to scream for her. If I was her, I’d have been raging, probably would have run away, and definitely would have died. Bryn is just such a strong heroine.

The entire plot was intriguing. There wasn’t any one place in the book were the action or intrigue lagged, and I was constantly either laughing or breathless with the tension in the book. Chase, especially, added to the tension, but I love the relationship that he and Bryn enter into, and the understanding that grows between them. The entire mystery about Bryn’s past and how they worked together to solve it was great. I also enjoyed Bryn’s best friend, Devon. His dramatics were hilarious, and even though his dominant issues with females, I understood how Bryn came to be friends with him.

Callum, on the other hand, is more confusing. At first, I didn’t really like him at all, even though Bryn loved him like a father. My feelings got sort of mixed up towards the end of the middle, and at the end, I pretty much felt about him the same way Bryn did. I understand more about him, but I still wish that things could have been a little different. And then there’s Ali. Bryn’s adoptive mother was very well-written. I loved the relationship she had with Bryn, but at the same time, it was definitely a mother-teenager relationship. There were times where I wanted to scream at her, as though she were my mother.

So basically, I LOVE this book. Going to start the sequel Trial by Fire right now! Happy reading!

~Yours Truly

Comment

