Blood Promise

Title: Blood Promise (Book 4 of Vampire Academy)
Author: Richelle Mead
Publisher: Razorbill – Penguin Group, Inc
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Guardian Rose Hathaway’s life will never be the same. The recent attack on St. Vladimir’s Academy devastated the entire Moroi world. Many are dead. And, for the few victims carried off by Strigoi, their fates are even worse. A rare tattoo now adorns Roses’ neck; a mark that says she’s killed far too many Strigoi to count.
But only
one victim matters … Dimitri Belikov. Rose must now choose one of two very different paths: honoring her life’s vow to protect Lissa – her best friend and the last surviving Dragomir princess – or, dropping out of the Acadmey to strike out on her own and hunt doesn the man she loves. She’ll have to go to the ends of the earth to find Dimitri and keep the promise he begged her to make. But the question is, when the time comes, will he want to be saved?
Now, with everything at stake – and worlds away from St. Vladimir’s and her unguarded, vulnerable, and newly rebellious best friend – can Rose find the strength to destroy Dimitri? Or, will she sacrifice herself for a chance at eternal love?

LOVE this series. Seriously, I can’t get over it. Rose is just an amazing character. I practically crying this entire book – there is a lot that goes on in four hundred pages! First of all, I loved the setting of most of the book – Russia. The fact that she was literally half a world away from everyone (almost) she loves, especially Lissa, behind in Montana while she’s off in freaking Siberia is insane! But it makes a twisted sort of sense, in a weird way. But anyway, the descriptions of the landscape, the buildings, everything was great.

The new characters introduced, like Sydney and the Alchemists, were amazing, too. I love their jobs and how Sydney developed a wacky friendship with Rose. It makes me wonder how Lissa would have reacted to her, and all the people that Rose met in Russia. I loved Dimitri’s family in Baia, and my favorite scene is probably the funeral scene. The Belikovas were amazingly receptive of Rose, and understood her love for Dimitri. My favorite member of the family is probably Yeva, if only because she reminds me of Rose with her unyielding attitude. I enjoyed the verbal warfare between Rose and Abe, too. And the secrets that Rose finds out, even if they are only revealed at the end. I also loved Mark and Oskana, and how they tied into Rose’s adventures.

The action in the book, especially with the unpromised dhampirs that she meets and joins in Novosibirsk. I liked Rose in her element, fighting Strigoi. The twists and turns of hunting Dimitri, and the totally unique situations that she ends up in. I loved how she’s not just tough physically, but also mentally. I love her relationship with Lissa, and the major cliff hanger and all the surprises in the book, especially at the end, definitely have me shrieking for the next book!

I highly recommend this series, and I’m going to finish some books so I can go to the library again without feeling guilty!!

~Yours Truly

One response to “Blood Promise

Comment

