Abandon

Title: Abandon (Book 1 in The Abandon Trilogy)
Author: Meg Cabot
Publisher: Point – Scholastic, Inc.
Release Date: April 26, 2011

Pierce knows what it’s like to die, because she’s done it before. Though she tries returning to the life she knew before the accident, Pierce can’t help but feel at once a part of this world, and apart from it. Yet she’s never alone … becasue someone is always watching her. Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you back.
But now she’s moved to a new town. Maybe at her new school, she can start fresh. Maybe she can stop feeling so afraid.
Only she can’t. Because even here, he finds her. That’s how desperately he wants her back. She knows he’s no guardian angel, and his dark worlds isn’t exactly heaven, yet she can’t stay away … especially since he always appears when she least expects it, but exactly when she needs him most.
But if she lets herself fall any further, she may just find herself back in the one place she most fears: the Underworld.

First of all, the cover is gorgeous. The model in that dress, and the black background with the gold patterns all around the jacket, front and back really captured my attention, especially the gold curlicues and flowers.

The plot line is practically perfect – the jacket states it perfectly: “The myth of Persephone … darkly reimagined”. I loved the confusion in the beginning. Even though I didn’t know exactly what had gone on in her past, I was too caught up in what was going on presently to really care until she mentioned it again – and then I was more intrigued than confused. Nothing pleased me more than finallly understanding what had happened in the flashbacks. The entire set-up of the book, with it’s, erm, peculiar characters (Richard Smith), was great. I loved the quotes in the beginning of each chapter from Dante’s Inferno, too.

There were some really funny parts, too. Pierce’s “craziness” came out in sarcasm and humor, at least to those of us who can read the inside of her head like, well, like a book. To other characters, though, it came across as crazy, which is maybe why I feel like I can relate to her so much. Not the I’ve-come-back-from-the-dead part. The I-often-say-things-that-only-make-sense-to-me-so-I-laugh-out-loud-and-everyone-stares part.

Possibly my favorite scene was when Pierce met John for the first time. I mean, at the end it’s explained why, and I don’t necesarily like it, but the innocence of the scene from when she was seven was adorable. It set the tone for pretty much her entire life. And when she relives her death, her incredulousness and mild outrage at the whole thing was actually really funny.

And the ending? Possibly the best part. You’ve got exactly what you hoped wouldn’t happen, a cliff-hanger to lead into the second book, and a furious/scared heroine. How much better can it get, people?! So I’m going to try to get my hands on a copy of Underworld as soon as it comes out in May! (Which, by the way, seems to be a very good month for a lot of second books coming out.) So excited!

~Yours Truly

Comment

