Unearthly

Title: Unearthly (Book 1 in Unearthly Trilogy)
Author: Cynthia Hand
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: January 4, 2011
Ebook

Clara Gardner has recently learned that she’s part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn’t easy.
Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place—and out of place at the same time. Because there’s another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara’s less angelic side.
As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she’d have to make—between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny?

From the cover to the very last page, I was enthralled. I stayed up until 2 o’clock last night reading this book, just because I simply could not put it down. The cover is amazing. The colors are funky and faded, the dress is captivating, and the font with the curlicues are attention-grabbers. Plus, the little feather in the corner adds a bit more mystery to the picture.

I was a little iffy about reading the book in general; I’m not really sure why. The cover looked kind of creepy to me at first, but after really looking at it, that feeling passed pretty quickly. And immediately after I read the first few words, I was hooked. I knew I didn’t want this story to end (luckily for me, there’s two more!). The romance was awesome (I LOVE TUCK!!!), the action was intense, and nothing was left out. There were details upon details, and the emotion and tone of the book never let my heart slow down. I was constantly either angry, or sad, or so so soooo happy for Clara. The mystery of her purpose through most of the book and the confusion that brought on by actions trying to make sense of it and clumsy attempts to complete it kept me at the plot’s mercy. I felt like a serf from Clara’s British history class, dragged along wherever the story wanted to go to show me something new – except I loved every second of it!

This book has definitely moved to my top 20 favorite books, possibly even my top 10. I don’t change my top favorites often, just my absolute favorite, so this is serious. Look the book/author up right now and buy it, online or B&N or wherever! But really, go now!

~Yours Truly

Comment

