Embrace

Title: Embrace (Book 1 in The Violet Eden Chapters)
Author: Jessica Shirvington
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Release Date: October 1, 2010

Violet Eden dreads her seventeenth birthday. After all, it’s hard to get too excited about the day that marks the anniversary of your mother’s death. As if that wasn’t enough, disturbing dreams haunt her sleep and leave her with very real injuries. There’s a dark tattoo weaving its way up her arms that wasn’t there before.
Violet is determined to get some answers, but nothing could have prepared her for the truth. The guy she thought she could fall in love with has been keeping his identity a secret: he’s only half-human—oh, and same goes for her.
A centuries-old battle between fallen angels and the protectors of humanity has chosen its new warrior. It’s a fight Violet doesn’t want, but she lives her life by two rules: don’t run and don’t quit. When angels seek vengeance and humans are the warriors, you could do a lot worse than betting on Violet Eden…

I was so excited when my cousin showed me that she got this book – I’ve been waiting to read it since I saw the release of the new cover! I mean, really, LOOK at it! The colors, the feathers, the cool wispy wings? It’s just a very attractive cover. Plus, the new take on angels is so cool to read. It’s basically an introduction into an entire new world with the character, but so well written that you can’t help but feel exactly how Violet feels. When she was upset, I was devastated. When she was angry, I was PO’ed. When she was happy, I was ecstatic. And when she was confused, my head was literally spinning, my mouth was gaping, and anyone who saw me was laughing because Iwas looking so shocked and bewildered at a book.

The new take on angels was inspired, really, and the characters really accentuated it. Phoenix and the story behind him? Great. Lincoln? OMG. (Even though, for obvious reasons, I kind of hated him in the beginning.) Violet and her mother? Their backstory is just so incredibly fleshed out. And then there was the romance – I must admit, to a certain point, I LOVED Phoenix. And then something happened that will remain unknown until you read the book, and Lincoln became a sort-of hero, but the forbidden part….. AH! It’s enough to drive a READER crazy, let alone the girl it’s actually happening to! (Yes, I know this is a fictional book. Give me a break. It’s not like I fantasize about being a character in a book or anything…. *ahem*…..)

This story was definitely NOT traditional in any sense of the word. It explored religion in a new way that I’ve certainly never read before, and incorporated the perfect amount of romance and adventure with the fantasy and paranormal aspects. I highly recommend this book! (And I also highly recommend that people get out of my way when I go to Barnes and Noble next, because I will be looking for Enticedand Emblaze, and then the fourth book, coming soon!

~Yours Truly

**Note: there is some sexual content and language.

Comment

