Cross My Heart, Hope to Spy

Title: Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (Book 2 in The Gallagher Girls)
Author: Ally Carter
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Release Date: October 7, 2007

Cammie Morgan may have a genius IQ and attend the best school in the country, but as she starts the spring semester of her sophomore year there are a lot of things she doesn’t know. Like will her ex-boyfriend even remember she exists? And how much trouble did she really get in last semester? And, most of all, exactly why is her mother acting so strangely?
All Cammie wants is a nice, normal semester, but she’s about to learn her greatest lesson yet—that when you go to a school for spies, nothing is ever as it seems.

I liked this book a lot, probably even more than the first, but it’s pretty close. You learn a lot more about Cammie and her past in this book. Plus, you meet Zach – ooh la la!! I swear, if I were Cammie … (well, actually, I’d probably be dead if I were Cammie. Let’s leave it at that.) But still, you get what I mean.

There’s a lot more to this story, though. I enjoyed Cammie’s frustration with her new goal to be “good” and to be “herself.” What the people who told her that don’t realize is that she’s trying to not be herself because of that command. Cammie isn’t just nicknamed Chameleon. She is a Chameleon. She’s a pavement artist. Telling her to not get into mischief is like forbidding a person who habitually eats chocolate to give it up for life. Her internal struggle was great to watch – she really grew up a lot in this book. She also realized that there’s a lot more that she didn’t know she didn’t know.

I loved how the two schools came together, though. The whole adventure, and CoveOps in general, was fun to read. The CoveOps final was the best part of the book, but my favorite couple of lines, however, were in the very beginning, when Cammie is introduced to Zach for the very first time. SLIGHT SPOILER!!!!

Her response to Gallagher Girl, when she’s not supposed to know there’s a school for boys? “Hey, Blackthorne Boy.” And the looks on Mr. Solomon and Zach’s faces? I wasn’t even there, and I could practically see them! I was cracking up!

SPOILER OVER

By the way, I SOOOOO hope that this series is made into a movie. Agoodmovie, mind you. But I digress. Basically, the book is awesome. Ally Carter is awesome. And I wish I were a Gallagher Girl.

~Yours Truly

Comment

