The Secret of the Scarlet Stone

Title: The Secret of the Scarlet Stone (Book 1 of Gabby Girls Adventure)
Author: T. L. Clarke
Publisher: One Wish Publishing
Release Date: July 7, 2010
Ebook

My name is Gabrielle Martin. And before I discovered that the scarlet pendant I received on my thirteenth birthday was not just any ordinary pendant but a crazy weird talisman and lifeline to my supernatural powers, the only major thing that I cared about was starting my freshman year at Vineswell Academy. But that was way before finding out that everything that I had known about my life was a lie….essentially smoke-and-mirrors designed to hide the truth about my powerful supernatural legacy.

Gabrielle was a very unique character. She was proud, she was confident, and she was definitely supportive of her friends. However, the writing diminished the strength of both Gabi and the other characters. It was sort of choppy, and it didn’t always flow very well.

However, the ideas behind the story were great. I loved the whole mystery of the rudy jewelry and how the four girls banded together to discover the secret. Even though some of it was a little outlandish, it was still good because is was a fantasy book. Still, the style of writing again disrupted the flow of the plot. Reading it was sometimes difficult to follow because most real people would not have conversations like that. Again, though, it was creative and I enjoyed reading the clues and helping to figure out the mystery and the “trick” to each clue. The sheer danger that the girls endure just to hear their fate …. it was intense!

I think hearing the backstory, the history, at the end was good. It was an interesting way to end the book, too, because I really want to know what happens next, and how Hannah shows up to the story, and if the whole mean-girl Ashley thing is a big part of the story or a small, side-note addition. Everything, and how it ties together, should make a very interesting sequel that I can’t wait to get started on.

~Yours Truly

Comment

