City of Bones

Title: City of Bones (Book 1 of The Mortal Instruments)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books – Simon & Schuster
Release Date: March 27, 2007

When Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder. Much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with odd markings. This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons – and keeping the odd werewolves and vampires in line. It’s also her first meeting with gorgeous, golden-haird Jace. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in an ordinary mundane like Clary? And how did she suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

My friend has just finished City of Lost Souls, so she is insisting that I reread the series now. And, since I don’t have a review of the books up, I figured I’d put them up. I remember being instantly hooked into this story when I first read the book, but now, I’m remember why. Clary is simply amazing. There are not enough words to describe her. She’s fiery, smart, and not afraid to be afraid. And I love her relationship with Jace. The, er, monkeywrench thrown between them at the end was heartbreaking, and since I know what happens, I’ll refrain from elaborating other than at that moment, I despised Ms. Clare.

Jace’s remarks are hilarious. I honestly love his running commentary of everything – one of my favorite parts? Here:

“What are all these?” Clary asked.
“Vials of holy water, blessed knives, steel and silver blades,” Jace said, piling the weapons on the floor beside him, “electrum wire – not much use at the moment, but it’s always good to have spare – silver bullets, charms of protection, crucifixes, stars of David -”
“Jesus,” said Clary.
“I doubt he’d fit.”
Jace.”
~page 255 of City of Bones

The witty charm that hides his inner torment, agony, torture, pain, scars, whatever you want to call it, not only makes his character interesting but also creates curiosity as to what is really going on inside his head – part of the reason why any scenes written from his point of view? LOVE!

Simon, of course, is amazing, and then the whole my-best-friend-that-I-have-a-totally-obvious-crush-on-is-part-of-a-crazy-world-chock-full-of-demons thing really brings out the best in him, for the most part. He’s loving, forgiving, and never stops caring about what could happen to Clary. Although I admit I like him better as a friend (which may or may not be influenced by my previous knowledge of what eventually happens to everyone), the conflict between Jace and Clary gives me hope for them.

I highly recommend this series. Even though my review really only focuses on a few of the characters and some plot, everything about it was awesome. I love the Nephilim thing, especially because when I first read it, the idea was relatively new for the time – there weren’t a ton of books like that out there. I love the quotes in the beginning of each part, and how the book is broken up into parts in the first place. I like the care that is evident went into nurturing this story as it grew and endured the publishing process, and I’m ecstatic that someone cared enough to stick with it to the end. Without those people, I would have missed out on a wonderful debut novel!

~Yours Truly

**Note: As much as I love this series, I’d suggest it to teenagers, no one younger.

Comment

