City of Glass

Title: City of Glass (Book 3 in The Mortal Instruments)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books – Simon & Schuster
Release Date: March 29, 2009

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters—never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.
As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City—whatever the cost?

I can’t believe that I actually only started rereading this book literally this morning when I borrowed it from my friend. I mean, it helped that I didn’t have any homework, but still! That just goes to show how great this book was – everything flowed really easily, and I could not WAIT to turn the page so that I could, er, rediscover? what happened next. Even though I have read the book before, it was a while ago, and rereading has refreshed everything and given me new insight to details that I may have missed my first time around.

Clary’s rune talents are definitely explored more in this adventure, as well as Simon’s vampiric powers. The Daylighter thing was definitely interesting, especially since it was only just barely introduced in the last book. And him and Clary’s relationship is totally not awkward, which just endears Simon to me. He’s always loving, caring, and SO nice. If he was real, I’d date him over Jace any day! Although I’d have some pretty heavy competition.

Other relationships are really put to the test in this book, too. Alec and Magnus are finally able to sort things out, though not exactly directly – circumstances that I can’t help but be grateful for pretty much shove them together. There are tons of other romantic relationships going on – the Luke and Jocelyn thing, the Clary and Jace thing (OMG that was insane!), and the Sebastian thing. There were familial relationships, especially the weird/crazy/unhealthy ties between Valentine, Jace, and Clary. The Lightwoods, and Jace, have some series things to work out, but not between themselves, more like with Sebastian. I almost cried because of what happened to them. And of course, there’s Clary and her mother to finally hash out the whole I’ve-been-a-Shadowhunter-and-you-stole-my-memories thing. Every little side adventure, every little detail, really contributes to the story, though, and I really enjoyed seeing the descriptions that reminded me of what would happen that totally flew over my head during my first reading of the books.

Can’t wait to reread City of Fallen Angels! I highly recommend this series!

~Yours Truly

**Note: As much as I love this series, I’d suggest it to teenagers, no one younger.

Comment

