Weekend BookBlogger Hop: 13

The BookBlogger Hop is hosted by Crazy-for-Books every week. It had been too time-consuming for a while, but she’s started it back up again. Basically, if you blog about books, answer a question provided and if you link to their post in your blog, you can add your blog to their list of participants. This week’s question is:

Blogging Question: How do you handle the writing of a negative review?

I tend to just be honest, but not brutally honest. If I actually despise a book, I’ll say that I really didn’t like it, and I’ll say why. I’ll say that the writing was too choppy, or that it really didn’t flow, or the characters had no depth, or something along those lines. However, I do always try to find at least one thing about the book that I did enjoy, something that made me keep reading. For example, if all of the above were true, maybe the plot was interesting and kept me on my toes, waiting to see what would happen next, even if it was told to me in a voiceless book. Even one positive is better than none, and if anyone close to an author, or the author him/herself is reading the review, I don’t want to hurt their feelings or discourage anyone from picking the book up who might actually enjoy it.

Here’s the thing: I’m only one reader. I have my opinion, and others have theirs. I have read books that have gotten rave reviews and hated it. I have also loved books that I’ve been told stunk. It’s similar to a movie – the critics may like/hate a film, but the public might just feel the opposite. So I try to keep an open mind, and if something bothers me, I mention it. But I also try not to go into horrifying, blistering detail.

Comment

