13 Little Blue Envelopes

Title: 13 Little Blue Envelopes (Book 1 in Little Blue Envelopes)
Author: Maureen Johnson
Publisher: HarperTempest – HarperCollins
Release Date: October 1, 2006

When Ginny receives thirteen little blue envelopes and instructions to buy a plane ticket to London, she knows something exciting is going to happen. What Ginny doesn’t know is that she will have the adventure of her life and it will change her in more ways than one. Life and love are waiting for her across the Atlantic, and the thirteen little blue envelopes are the key to finding them in this funny, romantic, heartbreaking novel.

Alright, so now that you know that the Internet sucks where I am, I don’t think I need to explain why this post did not happen yesterday. Anyhow, this book was really good. I had read the sequel awhile ago, and reviewed it here. Reading the first book now makes some things make a lot more sense, and although I think I enjoyed the second book better, this was still a fun read. I enjoyed Ginny’s trip around the world. Her emotional roller coaster, with a change of scenery in each country she visits, was pretty realistic. I’d be pretty confused and fed up but yet excited if my aunt sent me on a trip to Europe, by myself, with no contact with the U.S. allowed. Ginny was pretty realistic, and though at times she was pretty stupid – I mean, Beppe, really? – I wish that could have the opportunity to tour Europe like she did (except, I’d totally bring my camera!).

I also had a lot of fun with the setting changes. I would just LOVE to actuallyseesome of the places described. Yes, I’ve seen pictures of the Louvre. Yes, I’ve seen pictures of Venice. Yes, I’ve seen pictures of London and Grecian islands. But I’ve neverbeenthere. I’ve never seen them with my own eyes, right in front of me, physically able to be touched, entered, and explored if only I have a passport. And money, but forget that for now.

The sad parts existed, too, but that just made the story more realistic. And the letters? They were sweet. Even though some of them were crazy – go ask a random boy out for cake – and I’d be so completely against doing it, Ginny completed almost every single one to the tee. They really made the plot interesting, and definitely helped define the characters. Without the letters, there would be absolutely no plot. Johnson wrote the side effects of reading the letters perfectly; everything that Ginny did resulted from what she read and took from those notes from her aunt.

I would definitely recommend the book. It wasn’t the best book ever, by a long shot. It’s not one that I would have pre-ordered, or screamed about with my friends over. But it’s a short, sweet read along with its sequel, and it’s a bit of fun to help you have a relaxing summer.

~Yours Truly

Comment

