Half-Blood

Title: Half-Blood (Book 1 in Covenant)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press Publishing
Release Date: October 18, 2011
Ebook

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi—pure-bloods—have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals—well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.
Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:
Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden.
Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.
I really love Jennifer Armentrout. I really do. Because even though I don’t love this series as much as the Lux novels, it ranks really high up there. It’s full of action, but also teenage hormones and angst. Snark and sarcasm and hot boys, stuffy grown-ups who can shove it because what do grown-ups know anyway? She filled the pages with dilemmas and resolutions, usually involving a little butt-kicking. Honestly, I can’t imagine a faster-paced book that still takes the time to describe every humiliating event in detail, keeping the character fresh and likeable, keeping the reader on her side.

Other than maybe Alex’s mother (before the whole daimon thing), I don’t like any of the adults in the book. Lucian is a simpering creep, in my opinion. Marcus is stuffy and too involved in politics, like most pure-bloods. I do like the teenagers, except for a select few. Lea, for one, is just a mean girl, and frustrating at best, but definitely not as bad as, say, some other more stuck-up people – *cough purebloods cough Cody cough*. Caleb is amazing, everything a girl wants in a best friend. And although I can see what people love in him as a potential beau for Alex, I like him with Olivia. They’d be a sweet couple.

Aiden, on the other hand … wow. I REALLY wish that right there wasn’t forbidden, because I LOVE him and Alex together. However, I do realize that without that, there isn’t much of a story. Well, there is, but a much less conflicted one, and okay, I’ll admit, I enjoy the frustrating torture of not knowing if Aiden or – please no – Seth who she will end up with. Speaking of Seth, he’s annoying. I mean, annoying in the way that he reminds me of my teenage little brother. Yeah. That annoying. And sure, sometimes he’s funny. And sometimes he’s cool, like the whole akasha thing he’s got going on. And, of course, there are rare moments of sane, serious Seth. But why does he have to bounce around like that? At least Aiden has a valid reason for his mood swings – you know, all those stupid rules? But Seth just does it because … he’s Seth.

Even though I haven’t really talked much about Alex, I think it’s pretty obvious that I like her. She’s be my best friend if it weren’t for the whole she’s a Greek myth and I’m a mortal thing. She’s got skills, man! And even though she gets her butt handed to her, she’s determined and strong. Despite the flaws in being strong-willed (come on, every hero has a fatal flaw – no one’s perfect), I liked that she was always truthful with herself. Even though life was confusing for her at times, she never lied to herself. Instead, she usually picked a fight, whether with a training dummy or, well, … Aiden. So yeah, I like her 🙂

Overall, this book was great. I loved the action, the heartache, the characters, the plot, the author … that sounded stalkerish, but true. Can’t wait for Pure!

~Yours Truly

*Note: This book did contain language, violence, and sexual references. Recommended for ages 14 & up.

Comment

