Onyx

Title: Onyx (Book 2 in Lux)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Entangled Teen – Entangled Publishing
Release Date: August 14, 2012
Ebook

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…
Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.
Something worse than the Arum has come to town…
The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.
But then everything changes…
I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?
No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

My mind has officially been blown. I had to wait a day to write this review because I was FLIPPING OUT! I mean, full on hyperventilating, squealing, unable-to-breathe FLIPPING OUT! Seriously, just thinking about it I’m starting to have trouble inhaling again. Breathe, Maribeth, breathe. Okay. But, I mean, Entangled Publishing? If you’re really out there, and if you’re listening, PLEASE listen to the fans – release Opal soon!!! I don’t know if we can take much more!

Okay. So let’s start of with the plot. I can’t even describe how …. meaty the writing was. I know that’s a weird way to describe it, but there was not even a page’s rest of action, romance, suspense, or mystery. Sure, I guessed some of what was going to happen. But most of it was COMPLETELY unpredictable. I had NO idea the enormity of the situations, the craziness that went on. And with Katy’s voice coming through so strongly, I felt every fear, every moment of excitement, and every bit of anger, sadness, and love. I cried for her. I laughed with her. And I most certainly freaked out with her. Because let me tell you – the twists and turns this story takes will keep you glued to the edge of your seat on this roller coaster of a novel.

As far as characters go, I’m still in love with Katy and Daemon. I love their chemistry, and with misread signals and such, I can’t believe that they’re both so BLIND! It’s endearing, but sooooo frustrating. The end of this installment satisfied me a bit, especially with Daemon’s POV extra scene at the end of my Nook version, but still! I can’t wait to see how they progress in the next book.

In other romances, Dee and Adam’s relationship? Shocking. In more ways than one. I really like them, and the end? I can’t even put my feelings into words. Just know that I was … in shock. See above for the other emotions I was feeling. Dee definitely has my love and attention, though, from now to the end of the series.

I also liked how we got to see more of Matthew. It’s easier to appreciate his feelings and decisions in this book, especially with everything going on. Everything with the DOD (something/people that I DESPISE) really puts a lot of things into perspective. And then there’s the new character, Blake. Let’s just say that I had a weird feeling about him, and I wish that some things had gone differently. He did, however, shed a lot of light on Katy’s new touchy-glowy thing. Which, for the record, was also freaky and had me, along with Katy, confused, angry, and most definitely crying. Well, I cried out of frustration, and Katy was just frustrated.

Basically, there was a TON of things going on in this book that you don’t want to miss. It’s a high speed roller coaster of emotions as well as action, and the ride will leave you breathless. So don’t wait! High tail it to your nearest bookstore – online or physical – and READ READ READ!! And then wait anxiously for the third book, Opal, with the rest of us!!

Waiting anxiously,
~Yours Truly

Comment

