Irony

For years, I have said that English classes, especially those in elementary school when they split it between “Reading” and “Writing”, should be 45 minutes of just reading. Any book you want, just to be given time to read during the school day.

Well now I’ve got my wish. For my AP English Literature and Composition class, we are being required to read a book during the year on our own – for the first time in any class. Oh, sure, I’ve read books/stories/poems in class, and have had to read chapters for homework. But the goal for this class is to read as many books as possible in the year so that when we take the AP test, we’ll be able to summarize and analyze a random book that fills certain requirements that we won’t know what they are until we take the essay. So now I’m being required to read The Color Purple along with an independent reading novel, of which I’ve chosen Anna Karenina because out of the seven hundred odd pages, I’ve already read about 200.

In addition to those two books, I also have to read a book for my Senior Seminar class, which is a service learning project for the whole year, so my teacher wants to make sure that we have no free time for her class – no time wasted. If you are interested, you can check out my particular project here. Anyway, for that class I’m reading The Last Lecture. Pay back is a *****, haha.

So the reason I’m telling you this is so that you don’t think that I’ve abandoned the blog! Hopefully I can finish these books quickly and get back to reading modern young adult fiction!! Wish me luck!

~Yours Truly

One response to “Irony

Comment

