Avalon High

Title: Avalon High
Author: Meg Cabot
Publisher: HarperTeen – HarperCollins
Release Date: July 3, 2007

Maybe it’s not where Ellie wants to be, but if you have to start at a new school, Avalon High is typical enough: There’s Lance, the jock. Jennifer, the cheerleader. And Will, senior class president, quarterback, and all-around good guy.
But not everyone at Avalon High is who they appear to be . . . not even, as Ellie is about to discover, herself. As a bizarre drama begins to unfold, Ellie has to wonder, what part does she play in all this? Do the coincidences she’s piecing together really mean—as in King Arthur’s court—that tragedy is fast approaching for her new friends?
Ellie doesn’t know if she can do anything to stop the coming trouble. But somehow, she knows she has to try.

Okay, if you’re thinking about the Disney original movie, stop. Because I watched that, and it was NOT how the story went. And the book is sooo much better than the movie. I really liked Ellie in this book. Although the circumstances of her and Will’s relationship were sketchy, at best, I still think they make a really cute couple. Ellie is not boy-obsessed, although she does think about Will a lot. But who wouldn’t, especially if it’s only your second crush, ever? I also thought that her floating WAS a little obsessive, but to an extent, I understood. I mean, if you’ve never had a pool before, would’t you spend every possible second in it? I know I would.

I enjoyed Mr. Morton and Ellie’s relationship. As teacher-student interactions go, they had some interesting conversations, to say the least. But I know that their common ground of Arthurian legends was definitely the stem for those discussions. The Order of the Bear and the whole idea of reincarnation was intriguing, and I enjoyed the inner conflict that Ellie had in believing all of this. However, I think that it would be really cool if it actually happened. I mean, apart from the powers of darkness and whatnot. Cuz Marco was creepy, and very dangerous, with the gun and all.

This book was not the most exciting nor the most interesting ever, but it was really good. I would recommend it for middle to high schoolers, due to the reading level, length, and simple plot. It was a very good standalone novel, and I would read a sequel since the first book left itself open, but I probably won’t read the manga that came along for the series.

~Yours Truly

Comment

