Tempest Unleashed

Title: Tempest Unleashed (Book 2 in Tempest)
Author: Tracy Deebs
Publisher: Walker Publishing – Bloomsbury Publishing, Inc.
Release Date: June 5, 2012

Tempest Maguire is happy with her decision to embrace her mermaid nature and live among her mother’s clan within the ocean’s depths. Even though training to one day ascend the throne for the aging mermaid queen is rigorous, she finds refuge in the arms of Kona, the selkie who first opened her up to her mermaid side. But when word comes that one of her brothers has been gravely injured on land, Tempest immediately rushes to his side—which also brings her back to her old flame, Mark. And in her absence, a deadly battle begins raging at the hands of Tempest’s old nemesis, the sea witch Tiamat. As the dangerous war erupts, Tempest’s two loves—Kona and Mark, sea and land—will collide for the first time, both to protect her and to force her to choose.

Okay, I’m going to be blunt. This sequel was NOT as good as the first book. Despite the fact that I still like Tempest, as a character if not as a person, due to her strong personality and refusal to be bossed around, and I like how she wants to make her own mistakes and not follow directly in her mother’s footsteps, she also needs to learn how to take direction. And, I’m going to be perfectly honest, I like SO much better than I like Mark, and not only because it would be easier with Kona, them both living in the ocean and all.

That being said, I loved how Tempest grew into some of her powers in this book. Even though the final showdown (which isn’t so final) is kind of depressing and sort of anti-climatic in that afterwards the book kind of just ends, she really shows her strength and the extent of her magic, and it hasn’t even fully developed yet. I think one of my favorite scenes is when she finds out that Tiamat had been the one to hurt Moku, and she goes all whacked out with her storminess. That was a good a scene, except that her abrupt leaving led to a bunch of stuff that was also kind of sudden. I don’t think the build-up of apprehension was enough – it was like two mentions of having a bad feeling, and then she finally returns to the sea and chaos (and Tiamat) is everywhere.

But back to her home life. When she returns, it was as I expected. Rio’s reaction was a little extreme, but I guess it was semi-realistic. I mean, any 14-year-old, angst filled brother would be pissed; trust me, I have one. But still, he didn’t strike me in the first book as someone who would go punk-goth; I kind of pictured moody sulleness instead. However, her father’s reaction is admirable. I love him, sooo much. And I wish that Tempest would at least let him help her sort her thoughts out, since she doesn’t get to see him all that often anyway. I get that she was trying to be strong, but at the same time, she’s saying that she doesn’t want to be like her mom, who left them all to pine after her. If she got a little closer to her dad, maybe then they would understand more from where she’s coming from.

All in all, I liked the book, it just didn’t live up to my expectations for it. That being said, I will read the third book, because the way it ended, there is definitely going to be one. Hopefully the second book lowered my standards a little so that the last installment will wow me!

~Yours Truly

**Note: This book is recommended to ages 13 & up due to profane language, some violence, and sexual innuendos.

Comment

