The Power of Six

Title: The Power of Six (Book 2 in Lorien Legacies)
Author: Pittacus Lore
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: January 1, 2011

I’ve seen him on the news. Followed the stories about what happened in Ohio. John Smith, out there, on the run. To the world, he’s a mystery. But to me . . . he’s one of us.
Nine of us came here, but sometimes I wonder if time has changed us—if we all still believe in our mission. How can I know? There are six of us left. We’re hiding, blending in, avoiding contact with one another . . . but our Legacies are developing, and soon we’ll be equipped to fight. Is John Number Four, and is his appearance the sign I’ve been waiting for? And what about Number Five and Six? Could one of them be the raven-haired girl with the stormy eyes from my dreams? The girl with powers that are beyond anything I could ever imagine? The girl who may be strong enough to bring the six of us together?
They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They tried to catch Number Four in Ohio—and failed.
I am Number Seven. One of six still alive.
And I’m ready to fight.

There were a lot of the pieces to the puzzle that fell into place in this book. I loved the new Garde members met along the way (though I won’t tell you which ones, other than Seven). I haven’t read I Am Number Four since the movie came out, but reading this book, despite the fact that not too much happened, rekindled my team spirit against the Mogadorians! I especially liked the double narration by Marina and John. There was a little confusion at times when I didn’t realize that the font had changed (and so had the narration), but I always realized within the first paragraph or so of the new chapter.

What was really cool though was the way that the stories meshed. The events that took place, along with the visions of the future, told the story so that the reader understood what was going on in multiple places at the same time, and could only speculate about what would happen next. It heightened the suspense, which helped keep the reader interested throughout the book. Because honestly, my only problem was that other than almost being caught as terrorists a few times, nothing really happened in the book until the end. There was no lack of action, but there was a sort of lack in substance. The only progress that was really made was in Sam’s dad’s hideaway and at the very end. However, the ending was heartbreaking, and I am reading The Rise of Nine very soon – I must know how it ends!

As for the characters, John annoyed me with his love life issues. It was like he knew what he was doing was wrong, and hated himself for it, but he couldn’t stop himself either, which annoyed. He had no self-control and little acknowledgement for Sam in that respect. Plus, Sarah’s actions were the complete opposite of what I expected, especially after the end of the first book. I’m hoping that that issue will be cleared up in the next book. Also, Marina and Ella were amazing. I loved their dynamic, and even though Ella has a few secrets and tricks up her sleeve, they seem like a sister duo, with Marina as the older one, and it was not only fun to read, but exciting and was great addition to the limited plot. But I think that Sam is my favorite character. He’s open, honest, and sweet, not to mention the fact that he’s loyal and completely selfless. I wish John would be more like him, hardworking and an amazing friend. Sam is no doubt my champion – at this point, he’s pretty much the only guy that I will personally chew Mr. Lore out for if he gets killed off in the third book.

I would recommend this book to anyone who read or watched I Am Number Four. There was a lot of action, suspense, and even though most of the time, the characters have no plan, the ending will recapture your attention and have you on tenterhooks for the next installment!

~Yours Truly

Comment

