The Rise of Nine

Title: The Rise of Nine (Book 3 in Lorien Legacies)
Author: Pittacus Lore
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: August 21, 2012

Until the day I met John Smith, Number Four, I’d been on the run alone, hiding and fighting to stay alive.
Together, we are much more powerful. But it could only last so long before we had to separate to find the others. . . .
I went to Spain to find Seven, and I found even more, including a tenth member of the Garde who escaped from Lorien alive. Ella is younger than the rest of us, but just as brave. Now we’re looking for the others—including John.
But so are they.
They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They caught me in New York—but I escaped. I am Number Six.
They want to finish what they started.
But they’ll have to fight us first.

Compared to the second book, this was SOOO much better! I figured it would be – since the second was more of a filler book – but still I’m so happy (and sad) to have read this book! There was definitely a lot more going on, and getting to know a lot of the characters, especially Four’s new companion. It doesn’t give complete backstories – for that I’m going to read I Am Number Four: The Lost Files – but it definitely helps in both understanding and liking the characters a lot more.

The way the characters grow together is really great to see. The Garde have been separate for almost their entire lives, but just being Garde has united them just as strongly as if they grew up together, maybe even more so in some ways. The tattoos on their ankles from the first three murders of their brethren are reminders of their purpose, and as is the loss of their Cepans, which is possibly the saddest part of the entire series so far. The most amazing part of their relationship, though, is that even being separated by miles and oceans, they still feel connected, at least after John and Six split up. Knowing that others are out there helped them, and that realization, though never actually written in the book, was so clear from every point of view – Four’s, Six’s, and Seven’s.

I think my favorite part of this book was the end. So many secrets are revealed – and I totally thought that this was the last book in the series, other than The Lost Files, so I was a little disappointed, a lot excited, and definitely strung out over the fact that I have to wait for the fourth book! The ending was action-packed and inspiring, but ended so abruptly that when I flipped the page to read the next chapter, I kind of freaked out a little.

The new developments in the story, though, were really well incorporated into the plot. Being so detailed with seven different people’s lives, not to mention the human friends and other aliens, is a lot of hard work, and I really respect the author for acheiving it in his books. Legacies, the reincarnation of Pittacus, and the relationship between each Garde, along with the alien-human relationships when it comes to Sam and Sarah, create a melee of things to keep track of, evolve, and entertain the reader with, and Pittacus does this really well.

My only real grievance with this book is that Sam is still out there somewhere, and I DON’T KNOW WHERE! He is mentioned a few times by Four, and Sarah (who I’m glad to see alive, at least) has seen him, but we don’t know anything of what’s happening with him now, and I have a small problem with that. I told you in my review of The Power of Six, I LOVE Sam Goode. I mean, there is nothing wrong with him. Try to think of one thing. I can’t! Sam Goode = Perfect.

Anyway, I would definitely recommend getting through The Power of Six as quick as inhumanly possible and jumping nose first into the pages of The Rise of Nine. I can’t wait to hear something on the fourth book, SOON, I hope, and to read The Lost Files!

~Yours Truly

**Note: This book is recommended to ages 13 & up due to some profane language.

Comment

