Opal

Title: Opal ( Book 3 in Lux)
Author: Jennifer Armentrout
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Release Date: December
Ebook

No one is like Daemon Black.
When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well… There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.
But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.
After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.
Together we’re stronger… and they know it

I have no idea why I waited so long to post this review. I got this book for Christmas, and never stopped reading it until I was finished. I now had to go back and reread the book so that I had material to post. And, I mean, seriously, you all know that I love JLA, but I still want to share my full and complete thoughts. Unfortunately I need to remember what I wanted to talk to you about first.

So I reread the book, and I am so happy that I did. I love, love, LOVE the characters. Each time no one is talking (a.k.a. Katy is narrating) I can’t help but laugh or be just amazed. Her voice comes through so clearly, and her sarcasm, dry humor, and just straight-forwardness is by far the best part of the book, even the series. Of course, that doesn’t mean that we can forget about Daemon and his smokin’ hotness. He is so awesome in this book, romantic, honest, sweet, protective, and completely on Katy’s side. He supports her, and is so much less of a jerk than he’s been in the previous books. Which, of course, makes the prom scene AMAZING! and the end so, so, SO freakin’ emotional! There are so many things going through your end when you read those last few paragraphs that I wanted to cry, scream, and throttle Jen Armentrout (I love you, JLA) all at the same time.

Dee’s emotional roller-coaster was devestating. I really wish that things had turned out differently at the end of Onyx so that her and Katy’s relationship could have been better in this one. The whole book, that is possibly the one thing that hurts the most, as a reader – seeing them in the first book and then in the third, and their deteriorating friendship. It was painful, but I’m glad they started to work things out. And then there’s Blake. All I can say for him is that I wish he didn’t exist, despite all the consequences it would mean for Beth, Dawson, and the rest of the Luxen and Katy.

Basically, all I was thinking through the entire book was “oh my god, oh my god, oh my god”. Whether it was the end – OHMY GOD – or Daemon’s romantic gestures – can I buy a Daemon on like Amazon or something? I have a gift card! – Jennifer had me hooked. I was flipping out, constantly oohing and ahhing. Let me tell you, this book made my perfect christmas a thousand times better! I can’t wait for the next book – so excited!!!

~Yours Truly

Comment

