All American Girl

Title: All American Girl (Book 1 in All American Girl)
Author: Meg Cabot
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: March 25, 2008

Top Ten Reasons Samantha Madison is in Deep Trouble
10. Her big sister is the most popular girl in school
9. Her little sister is a certified genius
8. She’s in love with her big sister’s boyfriend
7. She got caught selling celebrity portraits in school
6. And now she’s being forced to take art classes
5. She’s just saved the president of the United Statesfrom an assassination attempt
4. So the whole world thinks she is a hero
3. Even though Sam knows she is far, far from being a hero
2. And now she’s been appointed teen ambassador to the UN

And the number-one reason Sam’s life is over?
1. The president’s son just might be in love with her

Unfortunately, I read this series out of order. When I read the back of this book, I knew it sounded familiar. I had forgotten that I had read the sequel a little while ago – Ready or Not. I did go back after finishing the book, though, and reread my review of the sequel, and I must say, the first book definitely lives up to it. It was just as fun and light-hearted as the first, and definitely a quick read. Despite being almost 400 pages long in the paperback I read, I had started this book this morning and breezed right through. And, even though it was fun and cute, there were definitely emotional points in the plot where I really felt bad for Sam. She’s a good friend, though, and I loved her for that, and it was cute how naive she was a times.

I liked being introduced to David this way. It was nice to finally see how they met, and realize how perfect they are for each other, despite their rocky start to the relationship. Sam’s parents were, well, parents, and like every teenager, Sam’s nerves were pretty fried by them. Her sisters, though – now that’s funny. I laughed a lot (although inwardly, for the most part, since I was at school and didn’t want people staring at me like I’m a wacko) when I got to parts with Lucy and Rebecca. Not only were their matter-of-fact tones and expressions almost audible and visible, but the dialogue and Sam’s reactions to them were hilarious. The family dynamic is definitely where a lot of the fun stemmed from.

Sam when on a nice little journey, and her realization at the end was cute. I loved the conclusion with Sam and David’s notes, and from what I recall, it flows nicely into the second book. Can’t wait to read another Cabot book!

~Yours Truly

2 responses to “All American Girl

Comment

