Weekend BookBlogger Hop: 45

The BookBlogger Hop is hosted by Billy from Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer every weekend. Basically, if you blog about books, answer a question provided and if you link to their post in your blog, you can add your blog to their list of participants. This week’s question is:

If you don’t like a book that you said you would review, do you graciously turn it down and explain why or do you struggle through it and hopefully come up with a half decent review?

It’s never happened to me yet, but I think depending on how bad I thought it was, I would either try to direct my review to target a different audience; attempt to put a positive spin on it (i.e., I didn’t really like the book, but the author did this very well); or I’d email the requester and let them know that I didn’t like the book, I’m sorry, but do you still want me to post a review. I would never really bash them in a review anyway, but I think that giving them at least a heads up would be the polite thing to do.

Comment

