Blog Tour: Apollo Academy (New Adult)

ApolloAcademyBanner

Welcome to my stop on THE APOLLO ACADEMY BLOG TOUR!
For the full tour schedule click here.

ApolloAcademyCoverAs the heiress to Titon Technologies, eighteen-year-old Aurora Titon can have whatever she wants—clothes, expensive gadgets, anything money can buy. All she really wants is to escape her pampered, paparazzi-prone life for the stars. Becoming the first female pilot to train as an astronaut for the Apollo Academy is exactly the chance for which she has been waiting. Everything would be perfect if it weren’t for her unreciprocated crush on a fellow student, the sexy astronaut bent on making her life hell, and the fact that someone keeps trying to kill her.

The first in a four book new adult science fiction series, The Apollo Academy, is an action packed story of love, discovery, and survival.

I have had the privilege of interviewing the author of The Apollo Academy, Kimberly Chase!

Professional Questions:

ABC: How much was the school (Apollo Academy) based on your own flight school?
KPC: There are a few similarities. Both are in FL and both have flying lessons as classes. I think I used my experiences at ERAU more than the campus itself. The aeronautical knowledge I picked up really enabled me to write the aviation/flight based portions of the story. Aurora (the main character) is the first female pilot to train at the Academy, and I definitely drew on my own personal feelings to write this aspect of her character. At a college that’s mostly male, where a lot of times I’d be the ONLY female in a classroom, I certainly knew how it would feel to be Aurora.

ABC: When you were writing Aurora, did it ever feel as though you were writing about yourself?
KPC: In a lot of ways, yes. There are parts of Aurora that  definitely stem from me–petite, loves aviation, female in a male dominated industry.

ABC: Do you think that there is a difference between men and women in flight school in real life as there is in Apollo Academy? (If yes, why, and do you think that this is changing?)
KPC: As much as I would like to answer no to this, I can’t. Even in the 21st century, the aviation industry is still male dominated.  I think female pilots take up about 6% of the total pilot population. BUT I don’t think that this has anything to do with sexism. Women are given the same opportunities as men,  I just think being a pilot takes a very specific kind of person. A woman has to really want to be a pilot. Can you imagine being the only girl in a classroom of boys? Of having to prove yourself over and over again? There’s an added pressure on women. It’s exhausting…but if you love flying, it’s worth it.

ABC: What was the most difficult part of writing Apollo Academy?
KPC: Believing that I could actually write the story in the first place. I thought about the book for years and it wasn’t until my husband encouraged me to start writing that I finally tried. Once those first few pages came pouring out, that was it. The Apollo Academy has taken over my life since then…

ABC: Do you have anything that you’d like to share about upcoming events, books, etc.?
KPC: The Apollo Academy releases August 6th, 2013 and I hope you’ll pick it up! It will be available at Amazon, Barnes&Noble, iTunes, and CreateSpace.

Fun Questions:

ABC: Why are you so afraid of spiders?
KPC: They’re sneaky, ugly, creepy, eight legged things that bite!

ABC: How did you learn about Jim Lovell and become inspired to be a pilot?
KPC: At age twelve, the movie Apollo 13 came out and my dad took me to see it. I was obsessed with all things space and my last name at the time was Lovell, so I instantly felt connected to the story.  I’m not sure if my dad realizes how much that movie changed me, but I walked out of that theatre a different person. A few weeks later, I began flight lessons.

ABC: What’s your favorite food – junk or otherwise?
KPC: Chocolate Chip Cookies…I could live off of them!

ABC: If you could live anywhere, where would you?
KPC: I live there now! Charleston, SC. BUT if I didn’t have to worry about my family getting upset about how far away I lived, then the Big Island of Hawaii

This or That?

M&Ms or Skittles? M&Ms

Harry Potter or Twilight? Harry Potter

Beef or Chicken? Chicken

Fruit or Vegetables? Fruit

Movie theater or Movie at home? Movie theater

ABC: Anything else you want to add?
KPC: Thank you for having me! These questions were so much fun!

Thank you so much for your time and for answering my questions; and thank you to all the fans and followers who are interested in the book! The Apollo Academy is now available at Amazon, Barnes&Noble, and iTunes. Add it to Goodreads, and then check out the awesome books trailer below, as well as a giveaway from Adriana at Rotten Apple Reads!

KimAbout the Author:
Kimberly P. Chase holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Aeronautical Science from Embry Riddle Aeronautical University, which basically means she’s kind of a geek and loves flying airplanes. Naturally, her books tend to include aviation, hot flight instructors, aviator glasses, and—let’s not forget—kissing! When Kimberly’s not writing or reading, she’s hanging out with her husband, four-year-old son, and two dogs.

Find Kimberly on Facebook, Twitter, and Blogger

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Comment

