Angelfire

Title: Angelfire (Book 1 in Angelfire Trilogy)
Author: Courtney Allison Moulton
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Book – HarperCollins
Release Date: February 15, 2011

First there are nightmares.
Every night Ellie is haunted by terrifying dreams of monstrous creatures that are hunting her, killing her.
Then come the memories.
When Ellie meets Will, she feels on the verge of remembering something just beyond her grasp.  His attention is intense and romantic, and Ellie feels like her soul has known him for centuries.  On her seventeenth birthday, on a dark street at midnight, Will awakens Ellie’s power, and she knows that she can fight the creatures that stalk her in the grim darkness.  Only Will holds the key to Ellie’s memories, whole lifetimes of them, and when she looks at him, she can no longer pretend anything was just a dream.
Now she must hunt.
Ellie has power that no one can match, and her role is to hunt and kill the reapers that prey on human souls.  But in order to survive the dangerous and ancient battle of the angels and the Fallen, she must also hunt for the secrets of her past lives and truths that may be too frightening to remember.

This book has been on my TBR list for a long time, since before it came out two and half years ago, so I was so happy when I found it at the library! When I started reading it, I was hooked. I couldn’t put it down, and blasted through it in less than a day. Everything about it was enchanting. It was great to read a book about angels again, since I haven’t read or reviewed one of those in awhile. Moulton’s take on Nephilim, Grigori, reapers, and the Fallen was definitely intriguing, and I loved reading this lore that she has created in Ellie’s world.

The characters were also very real (despite the whole reapers-don’t-actually-exist thing), and I loved Ellie. She just seemed like a normal girl, and then all this was pretty much thrown at her, and on her birthday, of all days. I liked the whole reincarnation thing, too. Generally, angel books don’t include things like that because it’s not associated with the Christian God, Hell, or Heaven, it’s more relevant to Hinduism and gods like Vishnu or Ganesh. It was definitely a unique book, and how the lore affected Ellie was a large part of it. She was very conflicted for a long time, trying to balance it all and figure it out at the same time. I think the moments that I really felt for her the most was during the times she had to lie to her parents and trash her reputation at the same time – like when a reaper totaled her car and she had to tell her mom she ran into a herd of deer. It was really bad, and it was times like those that I really sympathized with her. Moulton did an excellent job of getting the reader into a frame of mind where he or she could really connect to the characters.

Will was great, too. I love the friendship that he and Ellie have, and even though the romantic part wasn’t until the end, and brought a whole other onslaught of conflict with it, I think that they would make a really good couple, and I can’t wait to see if (and when) it all works out for them. Will was an amazing warrior, and his protectiveness of Ellie, romantic or strictly professional, makes him a hero in my eyes. Not only does he do his job well, but he is completely selfless and just has an attractive charisma that makes the reader love him.

Also, there was no lack of action and adventure. There were plenty of reapers and that searched Ellie out to provide enough fight scenes to satisfy any guy, and the intrigue and mystery that surrounded Will and Ellie as they tried to find the Enshi and save Ellie’s soul would enrapture any reader that ventured to crack this book open. The ending was amazing – I mean, I don’t think anyone who read this book saw that coming – and I am greatly looking forward to reading the next book soon; Ellie and Will have completely drawn me in, and I can’t wait to see what befalls them next!

~Yours Truly

**Note: Due to some profanity, bloody scenes, and fatal violence, I would not recommend this book to anyone under the age of 13.

Comment

