United We Spy

Title: United We Spy (Book 6 in Gallagher Girls)
Author: Ally Carter
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Release Date: September 5, 2013

Cammie Morgan has lost her father and her memory, but in the heart-pounding conclusion to the best-selling Gallagher Girls series, she finds her greatest mission yet. Cammie and her friends finally know why the terrorist organization called the Circle of Cavan has been hunting her. Now the spy girls and Zach must track down the Circle’s elite members to stop them before they implement a master plan that will change Cammie—and her country—forever.

For the last book in a series, Ally Carter has outdone herself. It makes me really, really sad to see this series come to a close, but I’m so, so, SO happy that it did in this way. So many authors have great series with endings that are …. well, blah. But Ally didn’t disappoint. Cammie is as strong a character as ever, even if she has lost her way a little. This has just made her more realistic – no one, not even a spy, can have be perfect. Plus, Bex and Liz were awesome friends and spies in this book. Much more serious, but also better in a different way. They had more of a role, and I think that having a more serious task helped with that. And then, of course, there’s Zach. Mmmm. I can’t really say much more about him. I love him as a character, as a spy, as a guy, and especially as Cammie’s boyfriend. There’s a fangirl in me specifically for him. If this series is ever made into a movie, they are going to have a seriously hard time casting him, and they’re going to have a lot of fans trying to ensure that the right Zach is picked. However, even with the romantic scenes between him and Cammie in this book, I still wanted a little more. I think that it was good, excellent, really, but there were moments when one or the other of them was feeling screwed up, and I just wanted to shake Ally and say, Really? Couldn’t I- I mean they – have this moment be perfect? Other than that, though, their relationship was wonderful. I really liked how it ended, and even though I wished they had more moments alone together, what they had made sense, and was probably more realistic than anything a fan could want. (I mean, a fan would probably just want their life story, about how they grew up and got married, and blah blah blah. That’s pretty much what a lot of fan fic is. Not that I’m complaining. Just saying.).

The action was not lacking either. From the very beginning, they were breaking in and out of places and being all spy-like, and teenage-girl-like, too. Their Operative Reports and Cammie’s lists were present, as always, and made me laugh. A little comedic relief for all the tension that their mission brought them. And everything, up to the very page, was perfect – just the right about of suspense, mystery, anticipation, and emotion to keep me eager for more. Finishing this book in a day was easy. Accepting that it was over afterwards was the hard part. Plus, the cover, keeping with the trend, is amazing. I love it, especially the colors and the graduation gown on the cover. It really wraps up the series in all ways possible.

Ally has climbed into my vault of favorite authors and will remain there for a long, long time to come. I hope that she continues to write more books, and I am looking forward to reading the 3rd book in her Heist Society series, as well as anything else that pops up under her name.

~Yours Truly

**Note: I recommend this book to ages 13 & up due to some violence.

Comment

