Snakeroot

Title: Snakeroot (Book 1 in Nightshade Legacy)
Author: Andrea Cremer
Publisher: Philomel Books – Penguin Group
Release Date: December 10, 2013

Bosque Mar haunts the dreams of both Adne and Logan, trying to escape for the Nether, where Calla, Shay and the other Guardians trapped him in the final battle in the War of All Against All…
Will he turn Adne to the dark side? Will Logan reclaim his birthright? And will darkness take over our world?

Even though it’s been quite a while since I’ve read the original series, and I’m planning on going back to reread Rift before I read Rise, this book plunged me back into the world of the Guardians and Keepers in no time. I was hazy on details – including characters and what they had done in previous books and most of the plotline, *cough* – but this book not only jogged my memory but did it in a way that was smooth, coherent, and relevant to the book.

One of the best aspects of the writing in this book was the different points of view. This books shows Ren’s, Logan’s, Adne’s, Connor’s, Sarah’s, and Sabine’s – and I may be missing a few! That was impressive in and of itself, but what was even more amazing is that Cremer managed to maintain each character’s individual voice and not lose them in the story; she gave each of them their time and their own perspective, which really enhanced the magic of the book, and books in general – of being submerged in another world and in the story itself.

I also loved the plot. Even though I may not entirely remember the original series, I remember how much I enjoyed it, and Cremer has not disappointed me with this latest installment. She has gone above and beyond with the characters, the rules of magic, and the world she has created for everything that goes on. The easiest way to see this is in the relationships between the characters, but the thought that had to go into imagining what all the rules are for these people….. I can’t fathom it, and I am so glad that Cremer got so absorbed into her fantasy and was able to share it so wonderfully with us through her writing.

I highly recommend this book, especially if you have read the original series, and even more so if you have read the series recently. I’m looking forward to finding out what happens next – the cliffhanger ending was insanely tantalizing; I hadn’t even realized that I had reached the end of the book! So yeah, you should definitely go find a copy and read it! Happy reading!

~Yours Truly

*Note: I only recommend this book to readers ages 13 & up due to some indirect sex talk, mild language, and violence.

Comment

