Poison

Title: Poison
Author: Bridget Zinn
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Release Date: March 12, 2013

Sixteen-year-old Kyra, a highly-skilled potions master, is the only one who knows her kingdom is on the verge of destruction—which means she’s the only one who can save it. Faced with no other choice, Kyra decides to do what she does best: poison the kingdom’s future ruler, who also happens to be her former best friend.
But, for the first time ever, her poisoned dart . . . misses.
Now a fugitive instead of a hero, Kyra is caught in a game of hide-and-seek with the king’s army and her potioner ex-boyfriend, Hal. At least she’s not alone. She’s armed with her vital potions, a too-cute pig, and Fred, the charming adventurer she can’t stop thinking about. Kyra is determined to get herself a second chance (at murder), but will she be able to find and defeat the princess before Hal and the army find her?

This novel was such a nice change of pace from the usual, recent young adult faze. Was there action/adventure and suspense? Yes, but there was a lot of laughter, cuteness, silliness, romance, and fun. There was no time restriction that made me feel as though I had to finish the book; instead, I barely realized how much I had read, and it came to an end all too soon.

The cover of this book is absolutely awesome. I remember when I first added it to my TBR list; it was the cover that had immediately told me that I would be reading this book in the near future. The cover model portrays Kyra beautifully, and the colors and plant life on it is gorgeous!

Neither was I disappointed. I loved the characters, the plot, and everything else about this book. It was creative, novel, insightful, and an incredible adventure that I wish had a sequel. Unfortunately, due to the fact that this book was published posthumously, I don’t believe there will be, but perhaps other unpublished works of this amazing author will be shared in the future. If so, I look forward to reading them, because this debut was amazing!

I can’t remember the last time I started a series or a book with such an original plot and imaginative details. The world of Mohr and Kyra’s adventures, which the summary above captures perfectly, are so good; I give the highest recommendation for this book to anyone looking for a fun, adventurous, and fantastical read!

~Yours Truly

Comment

