Reckoning

Title: Reckoning (Book 5 in Strange Angels)
Author: Lili St. Crow
Publisher: Razorbill – Penguin Group
Release Date: October 26, 2011

Nobody expected Dru Anderson to survive this long. Not Graves. Not Christophe. Not even Dru. She’s battled killer zombies, jealous djamphirs, and bloodthirsty suckers straight out of her worst nightmares. But now that Dru has bloomed into a full-fledged svetocha – rare, beautiful, and toxic to all vampires – the worst is yet to come.
Because getting out alive is going to cost more than she’s ever imagined. And in the end, is survival really worth the sacrifice?

I can’t say that this was my favorite book in the series, but it was a great finale to an amazingly creative adventure. I loved the paranormal world – the “Real World” that St. Crow constructed, and Dru’s part in that world made for a great series. I loved her character and her voice, and even though she cried a lot, she had good reason to, and she was a strong, capable character who in the end did really well with what she had in a terrible situation.

I also really liked the ending. The romance put on hold, everyone trying to find their place in a crazy world, and we still don’t know what “Dru” is short for! I liked that there is a possibility for more to the story, if St. Crow so chooses – whether in novel, short story, or blog post snippet format – but that it also doesn’t require more (though don’t get me wrong, I’d love to read more about theses characters!). Dru was funny, strong, spunky, and real. She had strong opinions, was in no way a perfect heroine, but managed to have me rooting for her no matter what she may have done wrong or right.

The covers in this series are awesome, too. I love the color schemes, the cover models, and pretty much everything about it. The titles are perfect for the story lines, and I love how this last book pulls everything from the previous books into one final stand. I also like how Dru controls the flow of the story, but even though everything is centered on her, the other characters are major factors in the plot. This is a series that I think should be made into a movie (not a TV show!) or maybe two in order to cover all the books; it’s so vivid and pretty much leaps off the page anyway!

I would definitely recommend this book (and series) to anyone who enjoys paranormal action novels; I will be on the look out for more by Ms. St. Crow, for sure!

~Yours Truly

*Note: Due to some profane language and violence, I would not recommend this book to anyone under the age of 14.

 

Comment

