Rapunzel Untangled

Title: Rapunzel Untangled
Author: Cindy C. Bennett
Publisher: Cedar Fort, Inc.
Release date: February 12, 2013

Rapunzel is not your average teenager.
For one thing, she has a serious illness that keeps her inside the mysterious Gothel Mansion. And for another, her hair is 15 feet long. Not to mention that she’s also the key to ultimately saving the world from certain destruction. But then she meets a boy named Fane, who changes all she has ever known, and she decides to risk everything familiar to find out who she really is.

This book was FANTASTIC!! Everything about it was captivating: the characters, especially Rapunzel herself, were amazingly written so that they came to life; the plot was suspenseful and hooking; and the writing was terrific.

As far as retellings go, I generally enjoy them and their unique twists on original stories. This, though, goes above and beyond what I was expecting and I loved every second and every word of the book. And even though some parts were predictable and I saw them coming, the writing got me so caught up in the story that I nearly forgot that I knew what would happen. It swept me away in a whirlwind of romance, adventure, and magic (not all of which is attributed to the plot – I have to say that the writing itself was pretty magical in the construction of Rapunzel’s world).

The cover is pretty, too, and I love how it doesn’t actually have a person on it. The author and publishers did a great job in coordinating to bring this book to life; it is definitely now one of my favorites, and I will be on the lookout for more by Ms. Bennett. Her clever writing and amazing retelling of this one story has me hooked, for sure, and I can’t wait to pick up another of her books. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves fairy tales, or is need of a great quick read!

~Yours Truly

Comment

