Crimson Frost

Title: Crimson Frost (Book 4 in Mythos Academy)
Author: Jennifer Estep
Publisher: Kensington Press
Release Date: January 1, 2012

I should have known that my first official date with Logan Quinn was destined to end in disaster. If we’d gotten into a swordfight, or been ambushed by Reapers, I’d have been more prepared. But getting arrested mid-sip at the local coffee hangout? I didn’t see that one coming.
I’ve been accused of purposely helping the Reapers free Loki from his prison—and the person leading the charge against me is Linus Quinn, Logan’s dad. The worst part is that pretty much everyone at Mythos Academy thinks I’m guilty. If I’m going to get out of this mess alive, I’ll have to do it myself…

As good as this book was, it was not the best out of the rest of the books. It was definitely emotional, don’t get me wrong – I was happy and heartbroken at all the right places. And Estep still did a wonderful job controlling the pace of the plot to build the suspense and action.

And even though the plot is thickening, and it was still a great book, it felt more like a filler book. Which is okay, but I’m now super excited for the next book, especially given what happens between the characters (ahem, Logan and Gwen) in this one. Those two just can’t seem to catch a break.

So, since it was a filler, most of the book was full of pre-actual-stopping-Loki action – some of which relates back to the previous book, especially considering her upcoming trial. In the next book, though, there will probably be a lot more of actual-stopping-Loki-slash-preparing-for-the-upcoming-battle, which I, for one, am very much looking forward to reading! Also, there was a lot of character and relationship development in this book. I already mentioned Gwen and Logan, but there’s a new character, Alexei, who I am looking forward to learning more about in future books, as well as some interesting relationships that change (for the better) – Oliver, Savannah, and Gwen; Logan and his dad; Gwen with Nike; etc. Plus, I really liked the whole addition of the Protectorate. As the main focus for this book, it will be good to have this book later on so that it doesn’t come into play all of a sudden in a future book and make no sense.

Basically, even though it was a filler book for the series, I think it will prove to be a very important book in the series. It gives a lot of information that undoubtedly will come in handy in the next books, and I am looking forward to finding out what happens next! (And the covers are still totally awesome!) I highly recommend this series to anyone with any sort of sense of adventure at all!

~Yours Truly

*Note: Due to some violence and mild language, I do not recommend this book to anyone under the age of 13.

Comment

